Hello World, let’s try this again!

Hi Everyone! So about 4 months ago I decided to try blogging, and as you can see by my post history , that attempt was short-lived. But here I am trying again. Since my last post I’ve had quite a few changes in my life and they have inspired me to try the blogging adventure again. This spring I discovered I can run! Who knew!? I am I’m not that fast by any means, but I can run. So far I’ve worked my way up to 10 miles, and I’m hoping to do a 1/2 marathon in October.

Josh and I after the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure


I ran my first ever 5K on April 15th. It was snowing that morning! Because, of course, in Minnesota it would snow! I finished without walking and beat my goal pace. My husband Josh (@joshnegaard on Twitter) has undertaken this running adventure with me, which makes it that much more awesome! Since the April race we have done 3 other races in the 3 to 4 mile range. I’ve gotten a lot faster and am in so much better shape than when I started. As a teen I was convinced I couldn’t run. I tried track and cross-country, but anything over 400m was death for me. I’m honestly not even sure what changed, but it has been a fantastic new experience!

Our crew after the Litchfield Watercade race in July.

This brings us to phase two: Triathlon! Josh and I bought bikes last year and since moving to our place in the Minneapolis burbs, have been enjoying the multitude of nearby bike paths. This combined with running and inspiration from friends led us to sign up for our first Triathlon. We’ll be competing this weekend in the Lake Marion Sprint Triathlon. I can’t wait. At this point my goal is to finish and get the first one under my belt…. Hopefully the first of many.

Since signing up for the tri I’ve gained so much knowledge and inspiration about triathlon and fitness through Twitter and the blogosphere. The power of social media throughout this adventure has made it that much more fun and exciting. And so it is with that excitement in mind that I now have renewed motivation to keep up with this blog. I hope i can inspire other non-runners to give it a try, and share some helpful or funny stories along the way. Stay tuned for an update on my first Triathlon and thanks to all who have helped me along the way!!!

20110818-110422.jpg

This entry was posted in General, Work Out. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello World, let’s try this again!

  1. You sound so fit happy and well prepared for all your challenges. Enjoy your first triathlon. I’ve just started doing them this year and they are loads of fun. And good luck for your half marathon. I’ll be running one in September so will wish you luck on the start line.

  2. My ultimate goal is to run in a marathon. It is a goal, but I’m stuck on C25K WK3D3… I have a lot of work ahead of me. Good luck on your upcoming Triathlon!

    • knegaard says:

      Thanks! I am also hoping to run a marathon sometime next year. I have heard great things about C25K. Keep pushing through, you can do it! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

